

Minutes of the Easter Vestry Meeting Held on Sunday 29 April 2018

Chairman - Rogers Govender, Dean of Manchester.

Secretary – Stuart Shepherd, Cathedral Administrator.

1. Opening Prayer

The Dean opened the Easter Vestry meeting with a prayer and then welcomed all those new members who may be attending for their first time. The Dean explained how the meeting looks back over the past twelve months as a community of faith to thank God for all of the wonderful things that have happened.

2. Apologies

Apologies had been received in advance of the meeting from: Barbara Baynham; Ian Baynham; Patricia Corbett; Patricia Holgate; Diane Johnson; Margaret Knowles; Amos Millington; Catherine Rhodes; Gareth Screeton; Ian Shaw and Ian Simpson.

3. Notice convening the meeting

The meeting was convened in the Cathedral nave at 12.15pm. Invitations had been circulated electronically and by letter to all on the Cathedral Community Roll in February 2018.

4. Minutes of the previous Easter Vestry meeting

The minutes of the previous Easter Vestry meeting, which was held on 7 May 2017, were accepted as a true record and no amendments were necessary.

5. Matters arising from the previous meeting

There were no matters arising.

6. Election of Churchwardens

The Dean explained that the Church Wardens at Manchester Cathedral have no statutory responsibilities but are effectively the Senior Stewards. It is therefore essential that those nominated as Church Wardens are already serving as Stewards of Manchester Cathedral. Churchwardens are all elected annually but may be re-elected. The Churchwardens for the previous year were Graham Curtis, Sylvester During and Gareth Screeton, all of whom were eligible for re-election. The Dean thanked Graham, Sylvester and Gareth for their hard work over the past year.

Nominations for three vacancies were invited. Those nominated, proposers and seconders must all be members of the Cathedral Community Roll. Nominations were received for Graham, Sylvester and Gareth; in the absence of any further nominations the three were duly elected for another year. The Dean congratulated them on their re-appointments.

7. Election of Stewards

Stewards are elected annually and there is no fixed number – there were thirty in total last year. The Dean thanked all of the Stewards for their continued support and for all of the help throughout the previous year – without them the Cathedral would struggle to operate. As Churchwarden Graham Curtis also offered a few words of thanks to the Stewards and in particular to those who have not

stood for re-election. It was explained to all present that there is no maximum number of Stewards so if anybody becomes interested in becoming a Steward to help at services on Sunday mornings and evenings, and the occasional evening throughout the week their help would be very welcome.

Not standing for re-election this year were Barrie Cheshire; Beryl Cheshire; Basil Fox and Faith Hatani.

The following existing stewards agreed to stand for re-election: John Acaster; Geoff Bamping; Helen Bamping; Geoffrey Berry; Graham Curtis; Jennifer Curtis; Kathryn DeBelle; Sylvester During; Joe Ejaks; Barbara Evans; Daphne Greaves; David Haywood; Doreen Hollingworth; David Howe; Marina James; Paul Kidd; Alan Maguire; Josh Okafor; Jack Peacock; Janet Rank; Nick Rank; Elaine Screeton; Gareth Screeton; Ian Shaw; Ian Simpson and Judith Walsh.

Nominations were also received for three new Stewards: Youseef Elouahabi; Derek Pitman and Sylvia Wilcox.

As such there will be a total of twenty-nine active Stewards (including the three Church Wardens) for services in the Cathedral.

8. Election of Lay Members of Chapter

The Dean explained to all those present that the Cathedral Community is responsible for electing a total of two members to serve on the Cathedral Chapter, each of whom serves for three years but may then be re-elected. Nick Rank and Jenny Curtis are currently the elected members; Nick's term of office was not due to expire this year but Jenny's would come to its end. The Dean expressed his personal thanks to Jenny for her hard work and dedication in serving on the Cathedral Chapter for a number of years and presented her with flowers as a token of appreciation.

Two nominations had been received for the one vacancy; both Jon Moxham and Ian Simpson had been duly proposed and seconded. It was noted, however, that Jon is both an employee and tenant of the Cathedral and as such there could be serious conflicts of interest with Jon also becoming a lay member of the Chapter. It was agreed therefore that it would not be appropriate for Jon to stand for election at this time.

In the absence of any further nominations, Ian Simpson was appointed to the Cathedral Chapter for a three year term of office.

9. Any other business

There was no further business so the Dean closed the Easter Vestry meeting and progressed with the opening of the Annual General Meeting.